Monday, May 30, 2011
May 29th: Palermo awesomeness
Today was an interesting day to say the least. We had church out in the hotel's courtyard. It was good - people could hear us singing and came out to see what was going on. Then we went to the Benedictine Monastery and Cathedral to look at the cloister (the column tops). I found one that I'm pretty sure was Zaccheus climbing in a tree to see Jesus in the crowd! So, knowing me, I definitely broke out in the song in the middle of this courtyard monastery thing :D. Then we went into that cathedral and it was pretty as usual! Some guy was talking, but it wasn't mass so it was all good. Then we visited the Cappucin crypt and that was a very sobering, creepy experience. They had bodies hung up on the walls and in boxes, etc. of people from theo 1500s - 1920. All were in varying stages of decomp, but some were extremely well preserved. Then we saw another cathedral, but the tombs in it were closed :( then we rode the "crazy train" which was basically a tour of the city that consisted of them playing fun music and us all dancing and getting excited when people on the streets would dance too. It was a big soccer match there that day so there were people everywhere! Also there was a US navy boat in port there so there were our sailors everywhere, which is what made the day an interesting experience. At one point to get them to stop following us/approaching us, my friend Susan and I decided to hold hands as if we were lesbians. But it worked! They said, "Aw man forget it they're not like that..." ;). Then that night we were ON A BOAT! Basically a ghetto cruise. It was fine though.
Saturday, May 28, 2011
Agrigento morning, swimming in the Mediterranean, & then Palermo
This morning we had an onsite class relating to yesterday's Valley of the Temples. We went to the archeological museum with all the artifacts, offerings, etc. It was so epic! Then we grabbed our sack lunches and headed to the beach! We went on these awesome natural steps made out of white marble/limestone stuff. Then I ate and fell asleep and surprise! - I'm a lobster...it's actually really bad :( Anyway then we had a 2 hour long bus ride to Palermo (home of the mafia) and checked into our hotel and ate dinner. Then we tried to figure out the port-o-potty style shower. It was soooo ghetto! But it worked so that was good lol.
Tomorrow is breakfast, devo, visit a monastery, then lunch then some other cool stuff that I forgot about but will tell you all about soon! :D LOVE YOU!!!
Tomorrow is breakfast, devo, visit a monastery, then lunch then some other cool stuff that I forgot about but will tell you all about soon! :D LOVE YOU!!!
Friday, May 27, 2011
Greco-Roman Theatre & Valley of the Temples
Today was a cool day. This morning we went up to Taormina to look at the Greco-Roman Theatre which was awesome! It had an amazing view of the city and coastline and Mount Etna. Then we went thru a flower garden that had a WWI monument in it. Also I was treated to my first granite, which is the Sicilian form of icy. It was sooo good! I had a fragola one - which means strawberry. Then I packed up and got loaded on the bus to head to Agrigento! It was founded by Greeks back in the 6th century BC. We got checked into our hotel here and then went on our tour of the Valley of the Temples. There are 21 temples there to Greek gods but only 10 have been found so far. It was very very cool, but then again my dad read Greek mythology to me when I was little - so what do you expect? LOL! There is an art/sculpture exhibit in the valley of the temples from May to October of this year I think, by Igor something. They're all about broken bodies, etc. and some have to do with Greek mythology - like the guy who made bird wings to escape from this tower and then his son didn't listen and flew too close to the sun and the wax melted and he died... moral of that story = obey your parents or die. 0:)
Tomorrow we go to the archeological museum here in Agrigento and will be able to connect the dots more with what we saw and learned about today. Then around lunch time we'll go swimming at some really beautiful place near here. Then we pack up and head out to Palermo, a different spot on the island of Sicily. We'll check into our hotel there and then have supper. I'll be back at the villa on Wednesday, I believe.
Tomorrow we go to the archeological museum here in Agrigento and will be able to connect the dots more with what we saw and learned about today. Then around lunch time we'll go swimming at some really beautiful place near here. Then we pack up and head out to Palermo, a different spot on the island of Sicily. We'll check into our hotel there and then have supper. I'll be back at the villa on Wednesday, I believe.
Thursday, May 26, 2011
Free Day!
Today was a free day so I took the opportunity to sleep a while ;). I took my time getting up and around and then ate lunch with some friends. Most had sandwiches, I had a pizza margherita! So good!!! Then I wandered with Tiffany and Rebekah down along the beach to try to go to Isola Bella - the cute little villa that's cut out of the top of the rock that you can walk to on sand when it's low tide. So we went over to that, but it was closed bc of construction :( So we played in the water some and took some pictures. Then everyone came back and cleaned up and then went up the hill (in the egg lift) to the town - Taomora (or something very close to that spelling lol). Then we walked around for a while trying to find a legit restaurant and then we ate and I had lasagne :D then we walked around some shops some more and got some gelato! YUM! Then they were wanting to "do something crazy" so I was like no thanks - I'll just go back down to the hotel. So I left, bad idea...lesson learned. Apparently Italian men just like to talk to you when you're by yourself so I got hit on and followed. I got off the egg and was being followed and so I took off running back to the hotel...no fun at all. Like I said, lesson learned. Game plan: hang out with cool people that won't want to do crazy stuff and stick with them until we're all ready to go back.
Wednesday, May 25, 2011
Beginning of Sicilian Fun
Today we had morning classes - we watched a video on Pompei in 273, took an Italian quiz, took notes in Bible over 2 chapters, and learned about European countries and capitals and the regions of Italy in my IES class (that's our final). Then we had lunch and got on a bus to go to Pisa and catch our flight to Sicily (the little triangle-shaped island that the boot is kicking). Then we went for a ride along the shoreside - which is epic-ly beautiful. The weather was cool tonight so after dinner when we went to walk along the water it was chilly, but the waves crashing were beautiful. Then we found gelato! Tomorrow is a free day here in Marrazo. We're planning on taking our time and going to the beach and looking around the town.
Tuesday, May 24, 2011
Knee Issues, Cooking, & Classes
Today I woke up and basically couldn't move my knee at all (my left knee with the partial ACL tear). I was supposed to be hiking and cleaning a 5 mile trail this morning, but since trying to bend my leg at all = excruciating, Kyle told me I could help with the cooking crew who were preping the burgers and hot dogs and all the fixings and drinks to be driven up to the picnic area. So I took some medicine for my knee and helped with the food. Then once we were at the sight I helped prepare the burgers and set up the tables, etc. and then clean up after everyone.
Then I got a tiny nap before my classes this afternoon - Italian, Humanities, and Bible. We had a quiz in Hum - I'm pretty sure I did well, all things considered :). And we turned in our first assignments in Bible - easy peasy. Then dinner was awesome spaghetti and seasoned chicken and potatoes. Then I had a little break to start packing for the southern Italy trip that I leave for tomorrow after lunch (Sicily, Naples, Pompei, etc.) which will last a week. Then I had volleyball class - we learned passing, setting (uggggh), and hitting. Then we kinda played a little bit. There ended up being 16 in the class.
I'm about to head inside to clean up and finish packing and make sure I have all my homework for my morning classes done for tomorrow and then I'm going to crash!
Love you all!
Then I got a tiny nap before my classes this afternoon - Italian, Humanities, and Bible. We had a quiz in Hum - I'm pretty sure I did well, all things considered :). And we turned in our first assignments in Bible - easy peasy. Then dinner was awesome spaghetti and seasoned chicken and potatoes. Then I had a little break to start packing for the southern Italy trip that I leave for tomorrow after lunch (Sicily, Naples, Pompei, etc.) which will last a week. Then I had volleyball class - we learned passing, setting (uggggh), and hitting. Then we kinda played a little bit. There ended up being 16 in the class.
I'm about to head inside to clean up and finish packing and make sure I have all my homework for my morning classes done for tomorrow and then I'm going to crash!
Love you all!
Monday, May 23, 2011
Scavenger Hunt and Religious Center
Today started off with a bus strike, so we got a ride in one of the HUF vans to the tram stop. Apparently they strike quite often in Europe, so that's inconvenient. The scavenger hunt was very fun and very easy. My group had to go from Santa Maria Novella to Santo Spirito. There were three churches we got to see and tour and a plaza and random side of a building that used to be a palace. We ate our sack lunches on the steps of a beautiful church, we have no idea which one - it wasn't on our list and there weren't signs. We ran into Antonio Acunto in the piggy market! Also we ran into some of the Jersey Shore people today near the San Lorenzo market, I'm just hoping that they don't make Italians think all Americans are that way, but who knows? Then we shopped in the markets and some stores. I got some souvenirs! Be excited :) I hope people will like what I bring back, but I'm weird so who knows? Lol. Also then after lunch and all our shopping and scavenger hunting, we met back up at the "Gates of Paradise" on the Duomo. Then we had our first onsite class where we got to tour the baptistry and inside the cathedral and then the museum of the Duomo. It was very informative, but it was a lot to pack into one day. My knee has definitely not been this tired since my junior year of high school when I was playing club and doing off season for school at the same time. I'll probably end up tearing my ACL more, but oh well. Then we ate at the club house which was ok. We had bbq chicken wings as appetizers and then pulled pork sandwiches and fries for dinner. I think I'm more of a fan of pasta, but that's ok. I'm sure I'll get some of that tomorrow. Also I actually did some homework today for the first time this semester - I looked up the answers to study the info for a quiz we'll have tomorrow in humanities 273. Also I've read a chapter in my Bible text and have answered most the questions - I think I have 2 more.
Also we randomly happened to be right on the bridge over the river Arno when there was a parade/celebration going on. It was some kind of holiday. There were drummers and girls in white that threw flower petals into the air and water. There were also very funny looking outfits with feathered hats on a few guys. It was really cool.
Tomorrow morning we have the hiking/trail-cleaning project with the young Italians. Hopefully my knee will be calmed down by then. Also I'm hoping the weather calms down and isn't so insanely hot! Then we have a cookout with them and then we have classes here at the villa. I'm pretty sure I have vb class tomorrow...that should be interesting if my knee is still like it is. Oh well, hopefully everything gets better and stays awesome!
PS - If there's something specific that anyone legit-ly wants from over here, let me know and I'll see what I can do :)
Also we randomly happened to be right on the bridge over the river Arno when there was a parade/celebration going on. It was some kind of holiday. There were drummers and girls in white that threw flower petals into the air and water. There were also very funny looking outfits with feathered hats on a few guys. It was really cool.
Tomorrow morning we have the hiking/trail-cleaning project with the young Italians. Hopefully my knee will be calmed down by then. Also I'm hoping the weather calms down and isn't so insanely hot! Then we have a cookout with them and then we have classes here at the villa. I'm pretty sure I have vb class tomorrow...that should be interesting if my knee is still like it is. Oh well, hopefully everything gets better and stays awesome!
PS - If there's something specific that anyone legit-ly wants from over here, let me know and I'll see what I can do :)
Sunday, May 22, 2011
Italian Church and Concert
Today is my first Sunday here. We went to the church of Christ in Florence. There are usually around 20 or so members present. This is the church that the Bible House missionaries work with. They teach English using the Bible there as part of their mission work. Some of the students are being housed there until the renovations/repairs to the side wing are being finished which should be not too much longer. I'm actually at the villa though, so that's nice.
Church was good. Some songs were in Italian and some in English. The prayers were translated/spoken in both too. The sermon was given in English by a cute little old man who I'm pretty sure was a guest speaker. It was translated by Lorenzo, the son of one of the villa workers. We met our adopted members - 2 English ladies that work with the Bible House and one Italian lady that's a grandmother to 2 young kids. The little boy's name is Jonathon.
After church we ate at Movida, a restaurant nearby, with all the young Italian people from church. I had una pizza con salami piccante - or pepperoni pizza for those of you back home. It was delicious. I ate almost all of it - I couldn't quite get the last piece down, but in my defense it was a very legit pizza.
Then we took a tour of the countryside - meaning we got on the bus going the wrong way, but we realized it and then just rode it back into town and came back to Scandicci. Then we stopped for gelato and I got both Menta and Stracciatella flavors or mint and chocolate chip - so I made an awesome mint chocolate chip gelato!!! Then we got back to the villa and chilled for a while until they got back to unlock it for us - slackers! Lol.
Then we had dinner together and watched/listened to Antonio Acunto performing his piano concert. It was so amazing. I need to get some classical music for my ipod.
Tomorrow's the scavenger hunt and I'm pretty excited/nervous about how that'll go, but it will be fun regardless. Love everyone!
Church was good. Some songs were in Italian and some in English. The prayers were translated/spoken in both too. The sermon was given in English by a cute little old man who I'm pretty sure was a guest speaker. It was translated by Lorenzo, the son of one of the villa workers. We met our adopted members - 2 English ladies that work with the Bible House and one Italian lady that's a grandmother to 2 young kids. The little boy's name is Jonathon.
After church we ate at Movida, a restaurant nearby, with all the young Italian people from church. I had una pizza con salami piccante - or pepperoni pizza for those of you back home. It was delicious. I ate almost all of it - I couldn't quite get the last piece down, but in my defense it was a very legit pizza.
Then we took a tour of the countryside - meaning we got on the bus going the wrong way, but we realized it and then just rode it back into town and came back to Scandicci. Then we stopped for gelato and I got both Menta and Stracciatella flavors or mint and chocolate chip - so I made an awesome mint chocolate chip gelato!!! Then we got back to the villa and chilled for a while until they got back to unlock it for us - slackers! Lol.
Then we had dinner together and watched/listened to Antonio Acunto performing his piano concert. It was so amazing. I need to get some classical music for my ipod.
Tomorrow's the scavenger hunt and I'm pretty excited/nervous about how that'll go, but it will be fun regardless. Love everyone!
Saturday, May 21, 2011
Scandicci Market Adventure
This morning we got to meet Antonio Acunto, a concert pianist, and ask questions and hear poetry about his work and listen to a sneak preview of the concert he's giving us soon. Then we got to go to the Scandicci market and had to find and buy a certain item in Italian - it was a Italian and Humanities class assignment. Ours was Sheep cheese and it was really quick and easy to find because we had passed the cheese place coming into the market. So then Susan and I just walked around and shopped for the rest of the time until we were supposed to meet up with the group. We got to Cafe Mario's and ordered gelato and waited for the others to show up. Then we all had a picnic lunch with everything we had just purchased. It was delicious. So much good fruit and bread!
After that it was free time and then all the kinesiology classes met together with Coach Burks to figure out what the game plan is for the semester. I'm in volleyball and pickle ball, but they don't have pickle ball equipment here so it'll just be a volleyball class. It'll be fun though. We're going to have 2 tests - one over rules and general wellness (the notes from today's class) and another over skills. His philosophy on his classes is that we have enough on our plates with Italian and Humanities that his classes should be as easy as possible while still being able to call them college classes :). Sounds good to me - I've had my fair share of hard classes, so I'll take easy.
Then tonight we went back into Scandicci and ate at this restaurant that's a cross between Subway and Shoguns. I had a tortilla-type of bread with chicken and provolone. It was so good. They also made us the best fries ever! Then we came back to the villa and I worked for the day and played with Zeus a little bit. Tomorrow's church and a free afternoon in Florence. I still can't get over that I'm actually here.
Love you!
After that it was free time and then all the kinesiology classes met together with Coach Burks to figure out what the game plan is for the semester. I'm in volleyball and pickle ball, but they don't have pickle ball equipment here so it'll just be a volleyball class. It'll be fun though. We're going to have 2 tests - one over rules and general wellness (the notes from today's class) and another over skills. His philosophy on his classes is that we have enough on our plates with Italian and Humanities that his classes should be as easy as possible while still being able to call them college classes :). Sounds good to me - I've had my fair share of hard classes, so I'll take easy.
Then tonight we went back into Scandicci and ate at this restaurant that's a cross between Subway and Shoguns. I had a tortilla-type of bread with chicken and provolone. It was so good. They also made us the best fries ever! Then we came back to the villa and I worked for the day and played with Zeus a little bit. Tomorrow's church and a free afternoon in Florence. I still can't get over that I'm actually here.
Love you!
Friday, May 20, 2011
Falcons and Italians
I got to hold a falcon/hawk on my arm today!!! The morning started out with breakfast and then a bus ride to the place where they train the falcons, hawks, and owls. They are used by airports, etc. to keep the pigeons away - I think Sooner Mall needs some falcons, but that's just my opinion 0:). This is also the place where some of us will go horseback riding - I'm just going up to brush and feed the horses, because I'm not a big riding fan. Then after the show was done, we all got back on the buses and fell asleep because we were exhausted. Then once we were back at the villa we had lunch and a little bit of down time before the Medici movie marathon (which we watched half of). Then we had dinner with some students and teachers from an art school here in Scandicci. We will be hiking and cleaning up a trail with them sometime in the near future - I think it's Tuesday, but I don't really know. Then after dinner we played sports with them. I played volleyball and we had a blast - they taught us some words and how to say certain things and we taught them stuff too. It will be a lot of fun hiking and getting to know them better.
Tomorrow is the market field trip, and I think a couple classes, but I don't know for sure... we'll figure it out. Also I'm going to talk to some people tomorrow and try to nail down some definite free travel plans :D. It's crazy to think that in 4 weeks I'll be doing my first free travel and then about 4 weeks after that I'll be done! It's cool because I'll be able to come home and see all of you again, but then I'll miss being here and seeing all the awesome things...and the pasta of course!
Peace & Love
Tomorrow is the market field trip, and I think a couple classes, but I don't know for sure... we'll figure it out. Also I'm going to talk to some people tomorrow and try to nail down some definite free travel plans :D. It's crazy to think that in 4 weeks I'll be doing my first free travel and then about 4 weeks after that I'll be done! It's cool because I'll be able to come home and see all of you again, but then I'll miss being here and seeing all the awesome things...and the pasta of course!
Peace & Love
Thursday, May 19, 2011
We have classes here?
Today was the first day of class. I had an 8 o'clock today :( still not a morning person, but it was okay. That class only meets 4 more times that early. The schedule fluctuates because of onsite classes (their fancy way to say field trips) and different activities - like tomorrow morning's falconry lesson! I hope we get to have them land on us, but I highly doubt it'll happen. Anyway, brain skip, I had my Intro to European Studies class which only lasts til the end of June. We'll do journals, field trips, keep up with the website, etc. Then I had Bible which shouldn't be bad. We covered the first 2 chapters of the Christian Home book, which actually was written by my prof's father in law, and it seems like we'll just read and take notes in class and answer the questions at the end of each chapter. Then we'll have quizzes and tests over that, but it won't be bad. Then I got a short nap because I'm not in the speech class. Then I went to my big humanities class (I'm taking it for 6 hours) but everyone's in it. Basically we learn about Italian history and culture and art and all the cool things we would learn anyway. My 6th hour credit assignment involves more journal assignments and then when we all go to Rome, I will be an onsite professor! I'm pretty excited, but kinda nervous too. Then we had Italian - which I'll only have til the end of June. It is pretty fun, I did my first assignment for that tonight - I had a discussion with an Italian student from a local church! It was complicated, but a good cultural exchange. Then we had our first chapel after Italian class and then another awesome meal from Leda and Paola...I think I'm falling in love with food. Then we had some free time til about 6 when we left to go play sports with the Mayor and his office staff and the local church. We each had a volleyball, soccer, and basketball team. I was obviously on the volleyball team because I'm not coordinated for basketball and I can't run or kick, so soccer was out. We lost both games, but we got better as we played more and we had fun. After that some of the youth group from the church were playing music on a sound system so we started a dance party over there and they taught us Italian dances and then they wanted us to teach them some of our dances so we played Cha Cha slide, Bye, Bye, Bye by N'Sync, and then Whip My Hair - they really got a kick out of those (and I'm sure our dancing!). Then the church had made food for us which was delicious! There were all kinds of appetizers - my fave was these fried roll things which I decided were the Italian version of hushpuppies. Then they had pasta and then pizza! They had dessert, but I held out for gelato :D. Also there were all kinds of drinks on the drink tables, but Coach Burks was standing over there and informed us that our options were water or the cokes because everything else was alcoholic. The Heinekan buckets were obvious, but I almost got the little strawberry drink which was alcoholic and the little orange bottles weren't clear either. Then we came back to the villa. I am extremely sore - I'm going to have to really stretch out or I won't be able to move my legs tomorrow at all :/. I think walking 4 miles on Tuesday, 7 miles on Wednesday, and then playing volleyball today probably did me in, but "when in Scandicci..." ;) Goodnight/Good Afternoon everyone. I'll let you know about the falcons tomorrow...
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
Florence Walk Day
Today was all about walking around Florence. The morning part of our tour was with Robbie - the head professor/really cool guy who runs the program here. Then we had a sack lunch overlooking the city between the rose and lily gardens. Then we spent the afternoon portion of our tour with Kyle - the go-to, helper guy for our program. Then he let us loose and we had free reign of Florence for about an hour and a half before we needed to head back to the villa for dinner and our welcome party - which was a blast! Also dinner was really amazing lasagna :D We went to like 3 different markets today and rode the bus and tram systems today. We also saw the train station. We visited several different churches, we only went in one today though because we'll visit them again later. I got to see the Duomo up close and personal! Everything is so breathtaking and epic. I've written papers on these pieces of art and the artists. It almost doesn't feel real...it's like it's a dream still. Also I had my first gelato today - it was vanilla (sorry I'm still me, but it was really really good). I also got a few things today, just little trinkets. I finally found a little ring that won't fall off my hand (I've been going a little crazy bc I feel naked without my engagement ring). I also got something for dad that I think he'll really like :) suspense! Also I got a little something for Grammie today too! Also I think I found the group I'm going with on our free travel...not really for sure where we're going yet, but they're cool.
Love everybody!
Love everybody!
Tuesday, May 17, 2011
1st full day in Italy
Today started out by getting up for breakfast which was ready for us at 8:30. We had a special treat this morning - pastries! We had doughnuts, crossiant-ish things, and filled pastries. They also had fruit and yogurt and coffees. I had a doughnut and probably OD'd on sugar, but it was good. Then we had some more orientation and went over some of the guidelines for us and why they are how they are, etc. Then we went over the schedule and learned some Italian words/phrases. We learned how to sing and say "I love you with the love of the Lord. I see in you the glory of my King." It's really cool. Then we had an epic lunch! I'm loving the food here - pasta and bread every day!!!
After lunch we went to Scandicci, the town we're in, and walked all around and went and ordered drinks at Mario's bar (which is what the coffee shops here are called). Then we went to the ATM and then walked around more and visited the Mayor's office. Apparently here the rainbow symbolizes the desire for world peace, which I think is just beautiful. There were gates outside the Mayor's office in all different colors. Then we went to the Acciaiolo castle where we had a cultural experience and met and talked with Italian people and students. The language barrier was frustrating, but overall the general point got across. At the castle they were having a "Slow Food" get-together. We experienced and tried lots of great natural foods they made for us. I had some sheep cheese and a special type of salami which comes from this specific breed of pigs that live on certain hills. It was on bread. I also tried this apple and nut dessert cake. It was all very good. The mayor made an appearance and talked to us and was very kind and personable. He wants us to add him on facebook! I think I'll look into that later tonight :)
Then after the castle/park fun was over a group of us decided to head back to the villa. We made it back just fine. It was interesting navigating the streets and getting back across the bridge over the highway, but it was good. We climbed back up the 16% grade hill to get back - I'm sure I'll be feeling this tomorrow! Then we had dinner, which was delicious, and then a short meeting about our whisperers - which are hearing devices used for tours and such so we can all hear everything that's said- and they gave us each a little moleskin notebook to take notes in! Then we talked about student worker jobs and I am going to be the female maintainence person. Each day we are here at the villa I will go to each of the girls' rooms and check the towels and toilet paper levels and take out the trash. It won't be hard at all, but they'll pay me in Euros right before free travel time and right before the Cinque Terre trip at the end of the semester, so it'll be awesome. Right now I'm about to research some free travel options and see what seems interesting and reasonable. Then I'm going to clean up and hit the sack!
After lunch we went to Scandicci, the town we're in, and walked all around and went and ordered drinks at Mario's bar (which is what the coffee shops here are called). Then we went to the ATM and then walked around more and visited the Mayor's office. Apparently here the rainbow symbolizes the desire for world peace, which I think is just beautiful. There were gates outside the Mayor's office in all different colors. Then we went to the Acciaiolo castle where we had a cultural experience and met and talked with Italian people and students. The language barrier was frustrating, but overall the general point got across. At the castle they were having a "Slow Food" get-together. We experienced and tried lots of great natural foods they made for us. I had some sheep cheese and a special type of salami which comes from this specific breed of pigs that live on certain hills. It was on bread. I also tried this apple and nut dessert cake. It was all very good. The mayor made an appearance and talked to us and was very kind and personable. He wants us to add him on facebook! I think I'll look into that later tonight :)
Then after the castle/park fun was over a group of us decided to head back to the villa. We made it back just fine. It was interesting navigating the streets and getting back across the bridge over the highway, but it was good. We climbed back up the 16% grade hill to get back - I'm sure I'll be feeling this tomorrow! Then we had dinner, which was delicious, and then a short meeting about our whisperers - which are hearing devices used for tours and such so we can all hear everything that's said- and they gave us each a little moleskin notebook to take notes in! Then we talked about student worker jobs and I am going to be the female maintainence person. Each day we are here at the villa I will go to each of the girls' rooms and check the towels and toilet paper levels and take out the trash. It won't be hard at all, but they'll pay me in Euros right before free travel time and right before the Cinque Terre trip at the end of the semester, so it'll be awesome. Right now I'm about to research some free travel options and see what seems interesting and reasonable. Then I'm going to clean up and hit the sack!
Monday, May 16, 2011
Travel adventures and the villa
We made it! Some of my group still isn't here and won't be til tomorrow, but mostly we're all good. I have officially now been in France and Italy :) The first flight from OKC to Atlanta wasn't too bad - I dozed on and off. Then a little time for lunch then time for the next flight to Paris. That flight was forever long. They fed us dinner and breakfast. They also showed 3 movies! I slept more on this one. It was really beautiful to be able to watch the moon over the Atlantic Ocean. Then in Paris we had about a 7 hour layover, but it was ok because I got to know some of the group I'm with. We took naps and played cards. Then the flight from Paris to Florence was only about an hour and a half, but I was asleep for most of it.
I'm in a room with 5 girls I don't really know, but one I met at the Paris layover and she's really cool and another is the R.A. They all seem nice. The room is beautiful - we have our own bathroom and a study nook. They had roses on all our beds - how sweet is that? Our view out of the window is so epic! I'll take pictures after I unpack and find my camera. So far I'm only a little homesick. I'm still kind of in shock that I'm actually here and this is actually happening...
We have our schedule for the next few days. Tonight we have supper and fill out paperwork and they will meet with prospective workers, aka - me! Then there's an optional gelato run tonight at 9:30. Tuesday we'll have breakfast, orientation, lunch, visit Scandicci (the city we're staying in/near), coffee...ugh..., and then dinner. Wednesday is breakfast, classroom, Florence walk, lunch at Piazzale Michelangelo, continue walking through Florence, supper at Villa, and then a welcome party.
I think I'm going to try to unpack, which should be interesting. Hopefully later tonight I'll be able to talk to some of ya'll!
I'm in a room with 5 girls I don't really know, but one I met at the Paris layover and she's really cool and another is the R.A. They all seem nice. The room is beautiful - we have our own bathroom and a study nook. They had roses on all our beds - how sweet is that? Our view out of the window is so epic! I'll take pictures after I unpack and find my camera. So far I'm only a little homesick. I'm still kind of in shock that I'm actually here and this is actually happening...
We have our schedule for the next few days. Tonight we have supper and fill out paperwork and they will meet with prospective workers, aka - me! Then there's an optional gelato run tonight at 9:30. Tuesday we'll have breakfast, orientation, lunch, visit Scandicci (the city we're staying in/near), coffee...ugh..., and then dinner. Wednesday is breakfast, classroom, Florence walk, lunch at Piazzale Michelangelo, continue walking through Florence, supper at Villa, and then a welcome party.
I think I'm going to try to unpack, which should be interesting. Hopefully later tonight I'll be able to talk to some of ya'll!
Saturday, May 14, 2011
Leaving tomorrow
Hello all,
This is my first post - I leave for Italy tomorrow so this is my last day at home. Hopefully all goes well with traveling and connecting flights etc. I'll actually get to Italy on Monday and start the orientation to the villa and Florence, etc and meet all my classmates.
Tell you more later,
sg
This is my first post - I leave for Italy tomorrow so this is my last day at home. Hopefully all goes well with traveling and connecting flights etc. I'll actually get to Italy on Monday and start the orientation to the villa and Florence, etc and meet all my classmates.
Tell you more later,
sg
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)